Forgot password?

South Africa 2010 in Numbers

the dust settles on an unforgettable and historic FIFA World Cup™,
reflects on some of the key statistics to have emerged over the past

18449 volunteers, the oldest of whom was 80 years
old, played a huge role in the success of Africa’s first-ever FIFA World

669 passes were attempted by Xavi during the
tournament, 104 more than his nearest challenger, Bastian
Schweinsteiger. Xavi also delivered the second-highest number of crosses
with 42, withonly Diego Forlan (50) attempting more.

fouls were committed at South Africa 2010, down significantly on
Germany 2006's tally of 346. A consequence of this was that dismissals
were also greatly reduced, with just 17 red cards compared to 26 four
years ago.

145 goals were scored at South Africa 2010, the
lowest of any FIFA World Cup since the tournament switched to a 64-game
format. Indeed, the current edition continues a downward trend in this
respect since the first 64-game finals were held 12 years ago, with
France 1998’s total of 171 goals dwindling to 161 at Korea/Japan 2002
and then to 147 at Germany 2006.

117 minutes was the time at which Andres Iniesta
struck against the Netherlands, making his dramatic winner the
latest-ever winning goal in a FIFA World Cup Final.

years and 330 days old, David James was the most senior player of this
FIFA World Cup. Holding the dual title of oldest outfield player and
oldest goalscorer was Mexico’s Cuauhtemoc Blanco (37-156). Christian
Eriksen was South Africa 2010’s youngest player at 18 years and 120 days

31 solo runs established Spain’s Sergio Ramos as
the tournament’s most prolific dribbler, ahead of more likely candidates
such as Lukas Podolski (27), Andres Iniesta (26), David Villa and
Lionel Messi (both 25).

22 goals at Green Point Stadium made the Cape
Town arena the highest-scoring of South Africa's ten venues.
Johannesburg's Soccer City ranked second with 20.

players were used by Germany during the tournament – the most of any
team. Slovenia, New Zealand and Korea DPR, by contrast, fielded just 15.

19 fouls made Japan’s Keisuke Honda an unlikely
leader of the competition’s crime count. Finalists Sergio Ramos and Mark
van Bommel followed closely behind on 17.

FIFA World Cup goals was the landmark reached by Miroslav Klose, leaving
the Germany striker one behind record-holder Ronaldo but nonetheless in
joint-second place with Gerd Muller.

14 yellow and red cards were handed out in a
fiery Final between the Netherlands and Spain, more than doubling the
previous record for this fixture, set when Argentina and West Germany
shared six cards in 1986.

12 goals were scored by Bayern Munich players
during South Africa 2010, making the Bavarian giants the
best-represented club in the scoring charts. Bayern’s European
conquerors, Inter Milan, were next-highest on nine, while Atletico
Madrid players accounted for eight. The Spanish league dominated
overall, with 29 goals to 21 for the Bundesliga, 12 for the English
Premier League and 16 for Serie A.

9 hours and 19 minutes without conceding
enabled Switzerland to set a new FIFA World Cup record. The Helvetians
surpassed Italy’s previous record of 550 minutes.

teams have now won the FIFA World Cup after Spain joined this elite
club. La Roja became the first team to win the global showpiece
having lost their opening game, and the first from Europe to lift the
Trophy outside their own continent.

6 FIFA World Cups as coach was the new
benchmark set by Carlos Alberto Parreira, who in taking charge of his
fifth team at the global showpiece, also broke the record of four he
previously shared with Bora Milutinovic.

6 European teams reached the last 16 at South
Africa 2010 and only three made it to the quarter-finals - an all-time
low for the Old Continent. Nonetheless, while five South American
representatives reached the knockout stage – four as group winners – the
Final was once again an all-European affair.

million fans attended South Africa 2010’s 64 matches, just short of the
FIFA World Cup record set when 3.59 million clicked through the
turnstiles at USA 1994.

3 players – David Villa, Andres Iniesta and
Carles Puyol – accounted for Spain’s entire haul of goals at South
Africa 2010. Previously, no team had ever won the FIFA World Cup with
fewer than four different goalscorers. La Roja’s overall tally
of eight was the lowest of any world champions in history.

siblings in one squad was another first for South Africa 2010, with
Jerry, Jhony and Wilson Palacios making history thanks to their
inclusion in Honduras’ 23-man list.

3 assists were racked up by Kaka, Thomas
Muller, Bastian Schweinsteiger, Dirk Kuyt and Mesut Ozil, establishing
this quintet as the competition’s most effective creators.

of the previous FIFA World Cup’s finalists failing to reach the second
round had only ever been seen once before - in 1966, when Czechoslovakia
failed to qualify and Brazil fell at the first hurdle.

draws and a defeat from three group games made Italy’s performance in
South Africa their worst-ever FIFA World Cup showing. Never before had
they failed to win a single match, or finished bottom of their group.
Marcello Lippi’s side remain winless in 2010.

minutes and 39 seconds was the time at which Thomas Muller scored the
tournament’s fastest goal in Germany’s 4-0 win over Argentina.

team finished the tournament unbeaten: New Zealand. That unlikely
statistic was sealed when the Netherlands’ 14-match winning streak in
the FIFA World Cup qualifiers and tournament proper came to an end in
the Final.